Teddy Bears and miracles


Teddy Bears on Patrol

On my facebook page I shared this “blurb” about a ministry I’ve been doing for quite awhile. I share it with you because I am amazed at the impact of one simple little action can be when it is done for God’s glory.

“I started the “Teddy Bears on Patrol” in October of 1996 when I was the Cherokee Council PTA President after my family was in a car accident and a stranger stopped to help and gave my kids a small stuffed toy each to keep. This touched us very deeply since it happened shortly after my brother’s murder. (Much more to this, but … a lot of folks find it hard to believe!)

In the past 13+ years I’ve been doing this program, the county PTA made a decision that they didn’t want to continue it so I spoke with my church and they helped with it and then my kids decided we needed to continue it in memory of my son Matthew who died from leukemia in 2006 – and it keeps going on! We’ve collected and distributed over 18,000 stuffed animals. They have been given to the Cherokee County Sheriff’s, Woodstock City Police, Canton City Police, Nelson City Police, Paulding County Sheriff, Fulton County Sheriff, Forsyth County Sheriff, Cherokee EMS, Children’s Brain Tumor Foundation, various hospitals in the greater Atlanta area, State Police in Nebraska (can you believe this!), local DFACS, Paulding Regional Youth Dentition Center, Rome Regional Youth Dentition Center, M.U.S.T., and Give a Kid a Chance – Cherokee. Several hundred went to Russia with a mission team. a couple hundred went to Camp Hope for Kids, a few hundred more went to Mexico with another mission group … and the list goes on and on!

The ones that have been donated this year will be offered to at least 4 charities including: Children’s Brain Tumor Foundation, Give a Kid a Chance, Kare for Kids, and AFLAC at Eggleston Children’s Hospital…. Ain’t God so AWESOME!?”

What small act can YOU do for someone else? This miracle occurred as a response to a misfortune. The RESPONSE to the misfortune has made all of the difference in my life, my childrens lives, and the lives of countless others. When we respond with genuine love miracles occur.

Six days before the Passover Jesus came to Bethany, the home of Lazarus, whom he had raised from the dead. There they gave a dinner for him. Martha served, and Lazarus was one of those at the table with him. Mary took a pound of costly perfume made of pure nard, anointed Jesus’ feet, and wiped them* with her hair. The house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume. But Judas Iscariot, one of his disciples (the one who was about to betray him), said, ‘Why was this perfume not sold for three hundred denarii* and the money given to the poor?’ (He said this not because he cared about the poor, but because he was a thief; he kept the common purse and used to steal what was put into it.) Jesus said, ‘Leave her alone. She bought it* so that she might keep it for the day of my burial. You always have the poor with you, but you do not always have me.’ ~ John 12:1-8

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

