Heavenly Sunshine


Looking through the back window of my house I see the landscape flooded with sunshine on the snow drifts. Reminds me of an old gospel hymn I grew up hearing in my parents house on the old stereo cabinet console! (remember these?!?!!) We would listen to the Gaithers, Ferlin Husky, Eddy Arnold, Roger Miller & Tennesee Earnie Ford. Then we had Buck Owens, The Ray Conniff Singers, Pat Boone, The Chipmunks, Liberace and the ever popular … Lawrence Welk Orchestra! (and a-one and a-two…) Those were the days, hunh?

Anyways, I could go on and on about those songs and those times, but I’ll save some of those stories for a future blog. What started me thinking here was the sunshine (which is now beginning to leave long shadows across the snow drifts!). The lyrics of the chorus go like this: “Heavenly sunlight, heavenly sunlight, Flooding my soul with glory divine;
Hallelujah, I am rejoicing, Singing His praises, Jesus is mine.”

As my children grew up I would find them cassette tapes (still dating myself a bit here) and would play these in the car as we ran errands. The children’s version of this hymn was different, simpler, but had the same message.

Here is a little background for the song. It is a song/hymn which praises Jesus as the light of the world in whom we must walk to please God who is the “Heavenly Sunlight”. The text was written by Henry Jeffreys Zelley, who was born at Mt. Holly, NJ, on Mar. 15, 1859. Educated in the Mt. Holly public schools, at Pennington Seminary, and at Taylor University, where he earned his M. A., Ph. D., and D. D. degrees, he became a Methodist minister in 1882 and first served in the New Jersey Conference as a statistical secretary, treasurer, and trustee, becoming a promoter of the campmeeting movement.

Although the words express the joy of living with a life with God, the chorus expresses this joy for me in such a simple yet deeply profound way. So, here I am, singing my soul out …
“Heavenly sunlight, heavenly sunlight, Flooding my soul with glory divine;
Hallelujah, I am rejoicing, Singing His praises, Jesus is mine.”

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

