What Does a Methodist, a Surgeon, and a Latino from Mexico have in common?


Looking for something to read on a rainy day? Or maybe you are looking for something to challenge your spirit and grow your faith? Maybe you just want some simple entertainment! Whatever the case, here are a few titles I’ve added to my reading collection that I just wanted to share with you.

FREE for Kindle:

The Holy Bible English Standard Version (ESV) ~ “an essentially literal Bible translation that combines word-for-word precision and accuracy with literary excellence, beauty, and depth of meaning.” (Personally, I love it and have it in hardback as well as on my iPhone and Kindle.)

 

 

 

 

 

Calm My Anxious Heart: A Woman’s Guide to Finding Contentment by Linda Dillow – from the product description: Although many Christian women say they trust God, their lives are filled with worry and anxiety-about their children, their finances, their relationships, their jobs. They know their lives should be characterized by faith in God, but they’re unsure of how to get that kind of faith. This book and twelve-week study helps women grow in contentment as they address the barriers to contentment and how to overcome them. (After reading the reviews, decided I needed to read this book to refresh and remind me why I believe God is who he says he is!)

 

Gray Matter by Joel Kirkpatrick & David Levy ~ (I picked this one because it has me intrigued through the publishers description. Let me know if you read it and what you think of the book!)  From the description: A perfect blend of medical drama and spiritual insight, Gray Matter is a fascinating account of Dr. David Levy’s decision to begin asking his patients if he could pray for them before surgery. Some are thrilled. Some are skeptical. Some are hostile, and some are quite literally transformed by the request. Dr. Levy’s musings on what successful and unsuccessful surgical results imply about God, faith, and the power of prayer are honest and insightful. As we watch him come to his ultimate conclusion that no matter what the results of the procedure are, “God is good,” we cannot help but be truly moved and inspired.

 

Now for those of you without a Kindle ~ don’t worry, you can find these at your local Christian bookstore or library. But might I suggest a few more titles that are laying around my house in various stages of completion?

In the upstairs bathroom waiting next to the tub is a copy of Heroes Among Us by John Quinones. From the description: this book reminds us all of the courage and dignity it takes to stand up for oneself and those around us. By chronicling such bravery, John Quiñones captures America’s can-do spirit and shows that through the slightest good deed, each one of us harbors a hero within. (I picked this book up on a clearance table at a local bookstore for $3. After reading the first chapter,  I would gladly have paid the special price it is selling for – new – of $5.49! Get a copy, you will enjoy it.)

 

 

Next to my bed I have a copy of If Saddlebags Could Talk: Methodist Stories and Anecdotes by Frederick Maser and Robert Drew Simpson. Obviously this isn’t heavy reading material, but I have enjoyed the snippets and tales of these early Methodists, along with some little known facts and true stories about familiar Methodist leaders as well as about those of us who are sitting in Methodist pews.

 

Well, there you go – a few of the titles hanging around in my house. Maybe you will see something here that interests you. And be sure to let me know if you are reading something you think would interest me!

Blessings!

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

