More Answers to … Ask Yourself


In a post on Sunday I shared the following:

“Before you choose something to give up for Lent, ask yourself a couple of questions:

  • What habits do I engage in that are destructive to my spiritual health?
  • To what material things am I too attached?
  • What areas in my life are unbalanced?
  • To what do I devote too much or not enough time?

After asking yourself questions like these you are ready to decide what to give up or what to add to your life during Lent. Look over this list for some ideas to aid you in your spiritual growth.”

Into thine hands ...

In that post I gave you a list of 10 things that are most popular for abstaining from during Lent. Here is another list to help you grow in your prayer life. Be sure to let me know what you think, are any of these links, ideas, suggestions, helpful?

Prayer

  1. Pray a book of scripture using lectio divina.
  2. Set aside time on a weekday (every day if possible) for quiet reflection and meditation.
  3. Pray with a set of Prayer Beads each day, alone or with your family.
  4. Prayerfully read a devotional such as Abandonment to Divine Providence or The Normal Christian Life or Morning and Evening: Daily Readings.
  5. Make a special prayer book and list all the people in your life who need prayers; pray for them each day. You might want to add someone new every day or focus your prayers.
  6. Learn to pray using the acronym for CHRISTIAN as a pattern.
  7. Make a commitment to attend your faith community worship of Holy Communion as often as possible.
  8. Commit to examining your conscience each evening.
  9. Pray using the example of Inazo Nitobe (below) throughout the day.
  10. Pray the Lord’s Prayer (below) each day at noon.

I ask Lord for daily bread, but not for wealth, lest I forget the poor

I ask for strength, but not for power, lest I despise the meek

I ask for wisdom, but not for learning, lest I condemn the simple

I ask for a clean name, but not for fame, lest I condemn the lowly.

I ask for peace of mind, but not for idle hours, lest I fail to hearken to the call of duty.

~ Inazo Nitobe

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name.

Thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses

As we forgive those who trespass against us.

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil,

For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory,

For ever and ever. Amen

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

