Hearing the Wisdom of Animals – Stories & Fables


The Bat and the Weasels

A Bat who fell upon the ground and was caught by a Weasel pleaded to be spared his life. The Weasel refused, saying that he was by nature the enemy of all birds. The Bat assured him that he was not a bird, but a mouse, and thus was set free. Shortly afterwards the Bat again fell to the ground and was caught by another Weasel, whom he likewise entreated not to eat him. The Weasel said that he had a special hostility to mice. The Bat assured him that he was not a mouse, but a bat, and thus a second time escaped.

It is wise to turn circumstances to good account.

The Fox and the Lion

When a Fox who had never yet seen a Lion, fell in with him by chance for the first time in the forest, he was so frightened that he nearly died with fear. On meeting him for the second time, he was still much alarmed, but not to the same extent as at first. On seeing him the third time, he so increased in boldness that he went up to him and commenced a familiar conversation with him.

Acquaintance softens prejudices.


The Dog and the Hare

A Hound having started a Hare on the hillside pursued her for some distance, at one time biting her with his teeth as if he would take her life, and at another fawning upon her, as if in play with another dog. The Hare said to him, “I wish you would act sincerely by me, and show yourself in your true colors. If you are a friend, why do you bite me so hard? If an enemy, why do you fawn on me?’
No one can be a friend if you know not whether to trust or distrust him.

 

So, who are you in these tales … the Bat or the Weasel? Maybe the Lion or the Fox? Could you be the Hound or the Hare? If you are like most people you can relate to one of these (or several!) at various points in your life. I certainly can relate to these animals and their behaviors and I sure remember the times in my life when other people weren’t sure of where they stood with me! Maybe that is why I like spending time with me, myself and I ~ I live in a zoo. 😀

Seriously though, each of these fables give us a simple lesson to learn on how we deal with the people we meet along life’s journey. I hope that one day I have the wisdom shared within these fables through these animals behaviors.

Be blessed & be a Blessing!

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

