A Kindle-ing I’ll Go or … I Love “Free”!


..think the opposite

Image via Wikipedia

For those folks that know me they know I like to read as well as to write, so whenever I get the chance to do so I take advantage of it. Now, as you might well imagine, that means I have to keep track of my books and other reading material. Right now I have books next to my bed. I have books riding in my car (although I have stopped reading while driving!). I have books on the dining table, my desk, the living room floor, the coffee table, and practically every flat surface where I might spend more than a minute or two.

All of this adds up to an awful LOT of books! That is why when hubby gave me a Kindle for Christmas I was ecstatic. Now, I can carry 20 -30 -40 – or more books in my purse. How cool is that!?! I have also learned to take advantage of audio books while on the treadmill (not as often as I should) and in the car. Here again, I love my Kindle! I can just turn the Kindle voice on and set it on the seat next to me, and wha-la ~ I’ve got a reading buddy riding alongside of me.

By now you might be wondering why I am just going on about all this. Well, I am going to share some of my latest finds, you know, the “What I am Reading Now” list. If you have a Kindle, check these out for free, if you don’t have a Kindle – I wouldn’t recommend anything that I wouldn’t spend my own money on, so you should also go ahead and check them out.

  1. For my clergy friends – All Things New: A Fable of Renewal by Rodger Price – it will cost you $.99, but it is well worth it for a number of different reasons. I won’t bother telling you about how we get burned out or feel used up and need to take time to rest and be renewed, I’ll let the book do that in it’s own unique style.
  2. For our friends in the brew ministry – The Beer Devotional by Jess Lebow – As Ben Franklin said, beer is a sign that God loves us and wants us to be happy. After wresting my Kindle away from hubby, I understood the description the publisher uses for the book. “The Beer Devotional offers you an inspirational daily guide to the joys of beer.” Hmmm? Don’t think I’ll take that one too much further!
  3. For clergy and everyone else, check out What’s the Least I Can Believe and Still Be a Christian? by Martin Thielen – described as “a list of ten things Christians need to believe and ten things they don’t to qualify as Christians” this one is FREE at the moment through Amazon in the Kindle edition. Although I enjoy deep theological books occasionally, this one isn’t very deep which makes it a good, quick read with basic concepts and understandings.

In another post I’ll share with you some of my latest (and greatest) traditional reads. And I would LOVE to hear from you – what do you recommend that I look for as summer approaches and my stack of reading material dwindles?

Until then …

Be Blessed & Be a Blessing!

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

