Update: Monday Madness! – It’ll be a cold day in hell …


Since the video has been removed from YouTube, here is a partial transcript [From AreWomenHuman] of the “message”:

Somebody the other day asked me, this reporter, he said, um, “I heard that…it’d be a cold day in hell before you get your theology from a woman. Don’t you think that’s kind of demeaning to the genders?”
I said, “Ask Adam what he thinks about getting his theology from a woman. I said it damned the whole world. I said the reason your soul, sorry soul’s going to hell is because a woman told Adam what God thinks about things. 
…I wouldnt get my theology from a woman. I don’t mind if mama teaches the kids. I don’t mind if a strong lady, and a wise woman, and a gracious godly woman follows the, uh, takes the lesson from the pastor – Hey y’all, you listen to me right now, I still believe, it’ll be a cold day in hell before I get my theology from a woman. I’m a preacher. I wasn’t mama-called, papa-sent. No woman ever got me involved in ministry, I didn’t follow a woman into ministry. A woman didn’t write this book, not one woman wrote the scriptures right here. [banging his bible on the lectern] A man wrote the Bible, got it from God, a man hung on the cross, his name is Jesus Christ, and God called a man to lead the church here – [shouting] Hey! I’m glad I’m a man!
…I’m the messenger of the church and what I say is more important than what the news reporter thinks I oughta say. God didn’t call him to tell me what to do, and God didn’t call anybody else, either. You know, if that’s arrogant, so be it. [speaker: Jack Schaap, Pastor of  First Baptist Church of Hammond, Indiana]

That this attitude exists does not surprise me after some of my experiences trying to fulfill the call God has placed on my life. To be sure, I didn’t ask God to make me a pastor or a preacher. In fact, I have never asked myself, is this a vocation – a job – that I want to do? The questions that I do ask myself on a regular basis are: am I designed for, am I called to, and am I worthy enough for service in the Ministry of God?

I have to say that I have no regrets about my decision to become a pastor or about the major directions my ministry has taken me. I have been and am happy as a pastor because I know my own heart. I know how pathetic, broken and frail it is: and I know the enormity of this ministry that God has placed on my life is only completed, fulfilled, through His will and His strength.  I have only started to learn the enormous obstacles of the work; not the least of which are my own sin and brokenness. But I remember – always remember – that I am only here on earth to serve God and He haschosen to use me in this way. If God can use me and my personal knowledge of  new life, ministry, compassion, love, miracles, death, resurrection and grace to grow His Kingdom here on earth, then I will take up my cross and Preach it wherever, whenever, however and to whomever He brings me to!

“While I am the one who made the choice to enter the ministry, there was a choice before that one, the choice God made in calling me to be his in the first place.” ~ James Green Somerville

I am truly at a loss for words at this time! AaaHhhh! (In my head the hymn is ringing … “And theyll know we are Christians by our love”) 😦 Theyll Know We Are Christians We are one in the Spirit, we are one in the Lord, We are one in the Spirit we are one in the Lord, And we pray that all unity may one day be restored: And theyll know we are Christians By our love, by our love, Yes, theyl … Read More

via Walking in the Wilderness

One thought on “Update: Monday Madness! – It’ll be a cold day in hell …

  1. Pingback: An answer from a genius « Palak Mathur

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

