God’s Math is Different Than Ours (via Walking in the Wilderness)


Oh my! Gas is up to $3.95 is my neck of the woods.

The make-up of familiar neighborhoods is changing around our country as homes are under foreclosure and flooding and tornadoes have decimated large areas of our communities.

It seems that there are more and more people in need of food, clothing, and other basic living supplies.

What about medical issues, do we even dare go there? How do we respond to the crisis of today?

I don’t know the answers for tomorrow. Most days I don’t even know the plan for the day! What I try to do each morning when I wake up is to remember the words from Jeremiah 17:5-8:

Thus says the Lord:
Cursed are those who trust in mere mortals
   and make mere flesh their strength,
   whose hearts turn away from the Lord. 
 They shall be like a shrub in the desert,
   and shall not see when relief comes.
They shall live in the parched places of the wilderness,
   in an uninhabited salt land. 

 Blessed are those who trust in the Lord,
   whose trust is the Lord. 
They shall be like a tree planted by water,
   sending out its roots by the stream.
It shall not fear when heat comes,
   and its leaves shall stay green;
in the year of drought it is not anxious,
   and it does not cease to bear fruit. 

If I can start each day trusting in my Lord, if I can rest in the assurance of his provision, then I can extend a hand of hope to my brothers and sisters who are parched and in need of the Living water and offer them a touch of relief in the midst of trials. So this day I begin again with prayer:

Lord, Help my unbelief so that I may trust in your provision for all my needs today and let my heart be so full to overflowing that my hands are open wide to share all that you have trusted to my care. Amen

In today’s economy we are continually hearing about people who are losing their jobs, their homes, their health insurance. Many people have become frightened to spend what they are earning on anything other than basic necessities. And many devoted Christians have fallen victim to the fear of not having enough … enough money, enough food, enough shelter, enough ____, you fill in the blank. This fear has crippled many of us into closing our eyes … Read More

via Walking in the Wilderness

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

