Life lessons from when… we all fall down!


Ring-around the roses,
A pocket full of posies,
Ashes! Ashes!
We all fall down.

Sometimes a “repost” is good. If nothing else it reminds me of the circumstances surrounding the time I wrote it. As I reflected on this one, I knew I had to share it with someone else out there. I have learned a few more life lessons since I originally posted this entry a few years ago.

Lately I’ve learned ~

  • Roses do smell beautiful, but they still have thorns! This lesson was brought home to me through the behavior of someone I thought called me “friend”. Brought me back to those middle-school years and high school angst! ugh.. oh well, moving on …
  • When we fall down, it’s important that we get back up. As I watched a toddler in McDonald’s play area not too long ago, I couldn’t help but marvel at her tenacity and her mother’s patience! This little one was determined to get herself into the corral of plastic balls. She would crawl over to it, pull herself up, then fall over when she picked up one leg. Her mother sat nearby and would watch as this happened over – and over – and over again. Each time it happened, mom gave her a hug and righted her onto all fours – and let her go again! This went on f or the full time I sat at a table eating my meal until I looked up and there she was – lifting one leg and keeping her balance while she crawled into those brightly colored balls! Mom applauded her little one and both of them had faces beaming with smiles. I hope that is how God sees me when I finally stand up and accomplish the next step on my journey. So, no matter how many times I fall down, I am not a failure unless I quit trying to get back up.
There are other things I’ve learned along the way also. Though I must admit that I still need to think them through to understand them better. In the meantime …
Be Blessed & Be a Blessing!

As I have been preparing for tonight’s Ash Wednesday service at the church I recalled this treasured nursery rhyme: Ring around the roses, pockets full of posies, ashes to ashes we all fall down! I remember my children holding hands and reaching out to anyone close enough to catch within their circle as they skipped and sang this song before tumbling to the ground into a laughing, giggling pile of joy. It did not matter what age you were, it seem … Read More

via Walking in the Wilderness

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

