Fingerprints of God


List of National Historic Landmarks in Nebraska

Image via Wikipedia

I fully believe we can see God’s fingerprints throughout all things.

The miracles of the church seem to me to rest not so much upon faces or voices or healing power coming suddenly near to us from afar off, but upon our perceptions being made finer, so that for a moment our eyes can see and our ears can hear what is there about us always.” ~ Willa Sibert Cather

Sometimes I find a quote I like but have no idea who the person is that said the words! Sometimes it may be a politician or a baseball player. Sometimes it will be a businessman or a scientist. Sometimes it is an actor or another public figure that I don’t recognize. But their words resound in me and there seems to be a greater truth in the words that I’ve read that I need to explore.

I never heard of Willa Sibert Cather until I read this quote so I became curious about her and decided to research a little bit. Are you also wondering just who is Willa Sibert Cather? Here is a glimpse of her biography:

Wilella (Willa) Sibert Cather was born 7 December, 1873 in the Back Creek Valley of Virginia, ten miles from Winchester, the daughter of Charles Fectigue and Mary Virginia (Boak) Cather. The Cather family goes back to the 1750s in western Pennsylvania and are of Irish descent. Willa was the oldest of seven children, four boys and three girls. She was taught at home and given classical authors to read.

In 1883 her father sold the family home, Willowshade and moved his family to Webster County, Nebraska, where her grandfather Cather had already settled. In 1884 they moved to Red Cloud. She attended school in Red Cloud, and for a time she fell under the spell of Darwin and dreamed of a career in science.

At the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, where she enrolled in 1891, she studied the classics and wrote short stories. A theme on Carlyle was sent to the Lincoln Journal and published. This early debut determined her pursuit of a career in literature rather than science.

Wow! I read of her interest in Darwin, her supposed affairs, her eccentricities and her oddities. Then I read the quote again and this is what stood out for me – “The miracles of the church seem to me to rest not so much upon faces or voices or healing power coming suddenly near to us from afar off, but upon our perceptions being made finer, so that for a moment our eyes can see and our ears can hear what is there about us always.”  

My memory jumped to these words from Christ: “behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20b) Hmmm. That got me to thinking another step – It seems to me … that we will see God’s touch and hear his voice in the world when we take the time to stop, listen and look for his fingerprints.

May we each have eyes to see and ears to hear. Amen 

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

