Reasons for attending church


Reasons for attending church fall into two categories — good and bad

In the bad column are these:

  • Attending is socially acceptable.
  • God is angry if I don’t.
  • Going merits His favor.
  • I feel better.

Such motivations dishonor God, and some are the devil’s lies.

In the good column are these reasons:

  • God’s Word commands it. 
  • I need Christian fellowship. 
  • Others need my encouragement. 
  • I can hear the Word. 
  • I can meet God.

A story might help to explain. One day the telephone rang in the pastor’s office of theWashington church attended by the President. An eager voice said, “Tell me, do you expect the President to be there Sunday?” “That I cannot promise,” the pastor said patiently. “But we do expect God, and we fancy it will be incentive enough for a reasonably large attendance.

Kinda makes you go …hmmm…

“And let us consider how to provoke one another to love and good deeds, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” ~ Hebrews 10:24-25

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

