An Advent Lesson ~ Compassion


The Horse and the Ass

An Ass and rude horse were travelling together.
The Horse carried little beyond his own tether.
While the poor laden beast beside him did struggle;
So overburdend that he finally faltered.
He pleaded with the Horse to show him some pity,
Else he would die before reaching the city.
“My request after all is not impolite;
Half of this load you would still find light.”
The Horse he refused thinking himself clever,
But soon saw his comrade fall down forever.
He realized quickly he had been mistaken,
For soon he was carrying the whole of the burden
Along with the skin of his little companion.

“Bear one another’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfil the law of Christ. For if those who are nothing think they are something, they deceive themselves.” ~ Galatians 6:2-3

Related:

4 thoughts on “An Advent Lesson ~ Compassion

  1. As I read your blog, I was reminded of a truth that I learned today. As I have grown in christainity, I some times would think-when will “I” begin touching a great amout of people for God. The main thing that suddenly came into focus, …”you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.” I also love this statement made by forgotten source, “The passion of christianity comes from deliberately signing away my own rights and becoming a bondservent of Jesus Christ. Until I do that, I will not begin to be a saint.” So the result was suddenly being made aware of pride-so sweet involving Christ. My whole life has been trying to improve-suddenly I have found that the losing of self is really the key to what will make my life as it should be

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

