An Advent Lesson ~ Dreams Really Do Come True


How Can We Change?

John Perkins, American environmentalist and shamanic scholar, tells the story of a conversation with a native shaman while he visited the Amazon. One day by a river he was speaking with the shaman he addressed as Don Alberto about the sad condition of the world and the difficulty of change.

“The world is as you dream it,” he said at last.

He walked to the edge of the water. “Your people dreamed of huge factories, tall buildings, as many cars as there are raindrops in this river. Now you begin to see that your dream is a nightmare.”

He bent to pick up a stone. “The problem is your country is like this pebble.” He threw it far out into the river. “Everything you do ripples across the Mother.”

I went to stand next to him. “I’ve seen the line where the destruction ends and the jungle begins.” I thought about my own selfish life, the negative dreams I had given my energy to. “It’s a terrible thing. We have forced our greed into your world.”

This brought an unexpected chuckle. “Yes,” he said. He peered deep into my eyes. “But you want it to be be different. Now you must learn to change. Perhaps that’s why you’ve come, to learn from us.”

“How can I change, Don Alberto? How can my people change this terrible situation we’ve created?”

His eyes held mine once again. “That’s simple,” he replied. “All you have to do is change the dream.”

Do you have a dream? Maybe you want to finish college, restore an antique car, travel to another country or retire early. Often we get so caught up in our “dream” that we forget to look at the vision God has for us. God has a dream for each of us for which he has given us our gifts and talents to change the world and to grow the kingdom. It’s up to each of us to recognize the dream God has given us. When we do, we will see that dreams really do come true!

“In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy. I will show wonders in the heaven above and signs on the earth below,” ~ Acts 2: 17-19a

2 thoughts on “An Advent Lesson ~ Dreams Really Do Come True

  1. A couple of days ago, I was saying to myself, “Where are the people that I am supposed to lead to the Lord?” As I reflected upon that, I suddenly began to realize that my whole idea was one of Pride-Self Pride. As I talked with my pastor, I realized that I needed to study someone in the scriptures that had a moment of change. I seemed to be directed to Simon, a disciple of Christ. I have only begun to study this man and realized that Christ changed his name. The fact that seemed to come out was that by having another name, only when he denied knowing Christ did the value of that name change come into view.
    As I am just now finding out about Peter, I suddenly realized that maybe a lot of the trouble of being a christain in this day and age is that we have not truly found the name that Christ has changed our names to. The name that is on my birth certificate is the one that people still call me. But I also began to realize that this name is also connected to my past life. The thing that I then realized is that Christ has given us a new name but the old name with all its baggage still tries to hang on. Thank God for new names.

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

