Twelve Things I Learned In 2011


It seems appropriate on the last day of 2011 to share some of the lessons I’ve learned, and maybe even why they matter. I hope there are a few in here that will bless you during this next year. And I hope you will so kind as to share a few of the lessons you have learned this year with me and the rest of the bloggy readers here!

I won’t list these in any particular order. Mainly because they were (are?) equally important under the appropriate circumstances. So, here we go:

  1. Don’t start too many projects without finishing something you have already started. I know for many folks this is a “duh” kind of thought, but for so many of us we get caught up in doing good things – for our family, friends, the church, ourselves, the poor children in ______ (fill in the blank) – and the list goes on. Personally, when I realized I had so many projects going on that my supplies were multiplying before they could be put to use, I knew it was time to let go of a few things. That brings me to …
  2. When beginning to clean, start with the top of the pile. Starting at the bottom creates a bigger mess. (Trust me on this one!) This lesson also applies to daily life situations. Think about it.
  3. Spend the extra money on better quality toilet tissue. 🙂
  4. Enjoy the occasional nap, but don’t make it a habit. If it becomes a habit, much like everything else, you begin to take it for granted and you lose the appreciation for it.
  5. Spend time with friends and the people who matter in your life and tell them they matter to you. In the past month alone I’ve said good-bye to four people who mattered much to me. I don’t know if they ever knew how much they meant to me.
  6. Be prepared to do things spontaneously! 😀
  7. Stay up those extra few minutes before going to bed so you can load the dishwasher. There is something pretty nice to walking into the kitchen and seeing a clean sink. I find this helpful to remember in other areas of my life where I like to procrastinate.
  8. Laugh. A lot and out loud.
  9. It’s okay to take the time needed to heal. I’ve tried to bury hurt feelings and grief. I’ve also jumped up and started running through my life too soon after illness. Neither of these things helped me, but they did cause more damage – to my heart, my soul, my relationships and my mental status.
  10. Trust God. You may think you know what you want, but He knows what you need. Even when what you need isn’t what you want.
  11. Trust God. You don’t need all those things that you think you want. That’s the world telling you that you aren’t “enough”. And you are more than enough just being who you are. Who God created you to be. Just remember ~ you aren’t finished becoming who you’ve been created to be.
  12. A good cup of tea, a great massage, regular manicures and pedicures, the “perfect” pair of shoes, and a good book ~ each of these, alone or together, make life more enjoyable!
One thought on “Twelve Things I Learned In 2011

Share your thoughts ~ YOU are important here!

